Tennessee State Library and Archives
Consists of two bound scrapbooks containing items related to General Nathan Bedford Forrest. The first volume includes the original pardon from President Andrew Johnson to Forrest, 1868; two portraits of Forrest; two portraits of Johnson; and a clipping about Forrest. The second volume contains advertisements and articles featuring Forrest which appeared in various newspapers, 1941-1947
New-York Historical Society
Correspondence, papers, and portraits of Civil War soldiers and sailors, politicians, newspaper editors, etc. Contains one Lincoln ADS and several related items
University of Chicago - Special Collections Research Center
Document signed. Signed by President Abraham Lincoln. Co-signed by Secretary of State William H. Seward. Pardons John C. Gaut, Circuit Judge in the state of Tennessee
Louisiana State University - Special Collections
The collection consists of Moore's personal correspondence, business papers, and political and legal documents. Ante-bellum materials deal with Moore's financial interests as a sugar planter and include slave bills of sale; mortgages; statements of accounts with a storekeeper, a druggist, a physician, and a dentist. Accounts of the physician and dentist document the treatment of slaves owned by Moore. Statements (1858-1861) of New Orleans commission merchants record sales of sugar and molasses produced on the Emfield, Lodi, and Mooreland plantations
Rutgers University Libraries
Papers of Henry R. Baldwin (1829-1902) and five of his children (A. Van Nest, Henry R., Jr., George V.N., Jr. [sic], Margaret B. and Elizabeth R. Baldwin), together with papers of his brother George Van Nest Baldwin, his brother John V.N. Baldwin and his father Eli Baldwin
Cornell University Libraries
Rutherford B. Hayes document signed as President dated 24 October 1879. One light-blue paged authorizes the U.S. seal "to be affixed to a warrant for the pardon of Julius Fatton." Signed "R. B. Hayes." Accompanied by an engraving of Hayes
Alabama Department of Archives and History
"In all cases, except treason and impeachment, the governor has power, after conviction, and not otherwise, to grant reprieves, commutations, paroles, and to remit fines and forfeitures and he must cause to be entered, in a book kept for the purpose, his reasons therefor. . ." (Ala. Code, Chapter 265, Section 7510 [1907]). This series contains the governor's record of pardons. Each entry gives a prisoner's name, county of residence, crime, date convicted, sentence, the action of the Parole Board and the Governor are often blank. Each name is indexed in the front of the volume. These records were created during the existence of the Board of Pardons (1901-1935), the Parole Bureau (1935-1939) and during the administrations of Governors Emmett O'Neal (1911-1915), Charles Henderson (1915-1919), Thomas Erby Kilby (1919-1923), William Woodward Brandon (1923-1927), Bibb Graves (1927-1931) and (1935-1939), Benjamin Meek Miller (1931-1935), and Frank M. Dixon (1939-1943)
Illinois State Archives
File contains only incoming correspondence which concerns cattle disease; state banks; pleas for pardons or for government employment, particularly judgeships and the Commissioner of Deeds position; recommendations; and resignations. Correspondents primarily include private citizens, state's attorneys, out-of-state government officials, Illinois county officials and lawyers
State Library of Victoria
Letter written by Edward Fosbery of the Police Department, Inspector General's Office, Sydney 12 March 1868 to Gideon G. Lang in Queenscliff, Victoria. The letter refers to the pardon of convict William Sydenham Smith. The accompanying documents refer to the conviction and transportation of Smith in 1828. The 'additional pardon' document is dated 6 March 1868. Smith was transported to Australia on the ship 'Layton' in 1829
Museum of New Mexico
Collection consists of four New Mexican documents: a 1902 statement of commission due to Telesfor Rivera as Assessor for Santa Fe County; a 1903 requisition for funds from the Territory of New Mexico Bureau of Immigration by its President W.D. Bunker; a 1903 voucher for expenses incurred in transporting prisoners from Clayton, New Mexico to the Territorial Penitentiary in Santa Fe; and a 1919 executive pardon granted by Governor O.A. Larrazolo to Ysidoro Miranda, who was convicted of murder in 1905