Thomas Elsa Jones collection (1-71), 1925-1947 (bulk, 1926-1946)

Jones, Thomas Elsa


ca. 30.53 cubic ft.
Organized in 71 boxes consisting of 17 series (broken down into various subseries): Series I: Personal materials; Series II: General correspondence; Series III: Board of Trustees; Series IV: Faculty and staff; Series V: Students and alumni; Series VI: Building development and properties; Series VII: Financial records; Series VIII: World War II and military materials; Series IX: Music; Series X: Office of Public Relations; Series XI: Office of Publicity; Series XII: Organizational affiliations; Series XIII: Publications; Series XIV: Addresses, manuscripts, reports, speeches, and writings; Series XV: Special events; Series XVI: Interim Administrative Committee; and Series XVII: Miscellaneous materials (including photographs and fragile publications).
Personal materials consist of biographical information and correspondence with family and friends, including a few financial records and insurance policy materials. General correspondence contains three subseries: College/University Correspondence, Resignation, and Work Camps. Correspondents include Jane Addams, W.E.B. DuBois, Langston Hughes, Eleanor Roosevelt, John D. Rockefeller, Jr., and Augusta Savage. The College/University correspondence contains mostly incoming and outgoing letters from presidents and deans at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, with some folders on other educational institutions. The Resignation subseries includes information on Jones's tentative resignation in 1941, and his final official resignation in 1946. The Work Camp subseries includes information on the Whiteville Work Camp, in which students were engaged in assisting the residents of rural Whiteville, Tenn., in a project to build schools.
Part of the Cooperative HBCU Archival Survey Project (CHASP) to survey the archival collections housed in the Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).
Cite as: Thomas Elsa Jones collection (1-71), The Special Collections, Fisk University Library and Media Center, Fisk University.
Another T.E. Jones collection covering the years 1926-1949 is available in the repository.
Fifth president of Fisk University (Feb. 1926 to July 1946); b. 1888; d. 1973.
Finding aid is available in the repository.

Related Resources

View this description in WorldCat: