Regina Willman papers, 1934-1971

Willman, Regina, 1914-1965


2.3 cubic ft. (3 boxes) + 2 phonograph records.
phonograph record, 33 1/3.
audio cassette.
The Regina Willman papers contain Willman's handwritten musical scores (originals and copies), including those for "Design for Orchestra I," "Design for Orchestra II," "Steel Mill," and "The Legend of the Willow Plate." Collection also contains a binder of biographical materials and two project binders (containing manuscripts and notes) compiled by Willman titled "Translation of Le Roman de Fauvel" and "Transcriptions of Early Manuscripts - 13th-16th Centuries". Recordings of "Design for Orchestra ll", "Metropolitan Opera Intermission" interviews (1970), and "The Legend of the Willow Plate" are in this collection as well.
Regina Willman (1914-1965) was an American classical composer during the twentieth century. Born in Burns, Wyoming and the wife of fellow composer and University of Wyoming music professor Allan Arthur Willman, she earned her B.A. in Music from the University of Wyoming (1945) and her M.A. in Music from the University of New Mexico (1961). She also engaged in private study with composers Darius Milhaud and Roy Harris and studied music at a number of institutions in the United States and Europe, including the Juilliard School of Music in New York City and the Conservatory of Lausanne in Switzerland. Willman composed a number of classical pieces between the 1930s and 1960s, including the orchestral works "Design for Orchestra I" (1948) and "Design for Orchestra II" (1953), and the ballets "Steel Mill" (1941) and "The Legend of the Willow Plate" (1949). She was also twice a resident composer at the Wurlitzer Foundation in Taos, New Mexico (1956-1957 and 1960-1961).
Finding aid available in repository.

Related Resources

View this description in WorldCat: