The E.M. Forster Collection

Forster, E. M. (Edward Morgan), 1879-1970


.6 linear feet.
arranged in chronological order.
The E.M. Forster Collection contains correspondence written to Siegfried Sassoon and covers a span of 41 years from 1918-1959. Most of the letters were written in 1923. The letters discuss diverse topics including personal philosophical views, books and other material being read, literary criticism of Sassoon's work, Sassoon's criticism of Forester's works, Forester's ideas on writing.
The collection includes a few references to World War II: the role of the writer, the discomforts, and the destruction of the London Library. Other writers mentioned in the collection include Thomas Hardy, E.T. Lawrence, G. Lowes Dickinson, W.H. Auden, Aldous Huxley, Hugh Walpole and others.
E.M. Forster was an English novelist. His many works include Where Angels Fear to Tread (1905), The Longest Journey (1907), A Room With A View (1908), A Passage to India (1924), and Maurice (1971). Forster also authored criticism works, essay collections, and wrote the libretto for Britten's opera Billy Budd (1951).
Siegfried Sassoon was an English writer. He served in World War I, and later befriended Wilfred Owen and published his works. Sassoon's own writings often followed anti-war and devotional themes.
Collection open to qualified researchers.
Manuscripts cannot be used for publication without regard for common law literary rights, copyright laws, and laws pertaining to libel.
Unpublished finding aid in the Special Collections Department.

Related Resources

View this description in WorldCat: