Alpine Lakes Protection Society records, 1960-2011

Alpine Lakes Protection Society (Wash.).


approximately 34.08 cubic ft.
The records consist of correspondence, minutes and agendas, reports, organizational material, membership lists, legislation, writings, subject and committee files, press releases, tapes, slides, ephemera, and other records. Included are materials relating to William Asplund, Jeb Baldi, Donald Baldwin, James Chapman, David Knibb, Hal Lindstrom, Roy McMurtrey, Robert Ordal, Eleanor Paine, Henry Steinhardt, Curtis Stucki, John Whetten, Karyl Winn, and the Ellensburg, Seattle, Wenatchee, and Yakima chapters. Other persons represented include Brock Adams, John Alving, Warren Avery, Gloria Baldi, William Beyers, Don Bonker, Dave DeJong, John Eberle, Brock Evans, Ben Graf, Ben R. Hayes, Dave Jaecks, Gloria Lindstrom, Warren G. Magnuson, Lloyd M. Meeds, Joel Pritchard, Douglas Scott, Bernice F. Stern, James C. Stevenson, Bonnie Sykora, and Richard Van Haagen.
The Alpine Lakes Protection Society of Washington was a citizens' conservation organization. Founded in 1968, it promoted congressional enactment of a national recreation area in the Cascade Mountains of north central Washington. It had chapters in Seattle, Wenatchee, Ellensburg, and briefly in Yakima. Besides seeking statutory protection for the area, the Alpine Lakes Protection Society of Washington worked to forestall extractive uses likely to affect the wilderness quality of the Alpine Lakes region. In June 1976 Congress passed the Alpine Lakes Management Act of 1976, which established the Alpine Lakes Wilderness.
The records are open to all users.
Alpine Lakes Protection Society Records. Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries, Seattle, Washington.
Restrictions may exist on reproduction, quotation, or publication. Contact the Special Collections division, University of Washington Libraries for details.
Also available in the Special Collections division of the University of Washington Libraries are the papers of Ben Hayes (Manuscript Collection 2650), a longtime Alpine Lakes Protection Society president, 1968-1973, and trustee, 1973-1975. Another related collection, the Schweppe, Doolittle, Krug, Tausend, Beezer, and Beierle records (Manuscript Collection 2624), includes Alpine Lakes Protection Society trustee Dave Knibb's file on litigation to prevent mining in La Bohn Gap.
A finding aid to the records is available in the Special Collections division of the University of Washington Libraries.

Related Resources

View this description in WorldCat: