Library of the Institute for the Study of Women in Music collection, 1985-9999

Library of the Institute for the Study of Women in Music


29.69 linear ft.
Organized into two series: I. Music Scores. II. Composer Files: Correspondence, Photographs, And Biographies.
The collection is devoted to the musical works of women composers both published and unpublished. While predominately printed and manuscript music scores, it also contains some biographical information and correspondence. The core collection remains the Library of the ICWM and it continues to grow with subsequent donations. Over 300 composers are represented in the collection. The Library includes the collection of books and recordings gathered by Aaron I. Cohen, editor of the International Encyclopedia of Women Composers and the Library of the International Congress on Women in Music (ICWM).
The Library of the Institute for the Study of Women in Music was established in the Music Department of California State University, Northridge under the direction of Jeannie Poole, Head of the Music Library and Professor Beverly Grigsby in 1985 to collect the music of women composers. When the Institute closed in the 1990s, the Library was transferred to the Oviatt Library's Special Collections and Archives.
The box numbering system is arranged to follow the alphabetical arrangement. The letter indicates the filing name and the number indicates the number of the box within that letter. Thus Box P2 is the second box of those composers with a last name beginning with the letter P. Oversize boxes contain large format scores and other large documents.
The collection is open for research use.

Related Resources

View this description in WorldCat: