Modern Music archives, 1909-1983 (bulk 1924-1983)

League of Composers (U.S.).


around 810 items (8 boxes, 5.75 linear feet).
Organized into the following series: I. Closing Activities, 1945-1952, circa 1973, II. Lederman Manuscripts, circa 1983, III. Correspondence, 1925-1973, IV. Iconography, 1909-1974, V. Scrapbooks, 1924-1947, VI. Auxiliary Pamphlets, 1925-1938, VII. Supplemental Material, 1924-1946, VIII. Oversize Iconography, 1928, 1934.
The archives contains materials documenting the cessation of Modern music, correspondence, financial and budget documents, fundraising and promotional materials, clippings, committee meeting minutes, photographs and artwork, stage and costume designs, contemporary concert and festival programs, scrapbooks (preserved on microfilm), publications of the League, and writings by Minna Lederman Daniel. Correspondence includes originals of letters sent to Modern music by George Antheil, Alban Berg, Theodore Chanler, Aaron Copland, Henry and Sidney Cowell, David Ewen, Frederick Jacobi, Lincoln Kirstein, Walter Piston, Paul Rosenfeld, Lazare Saminsky, Arnold Schoenberg, Harold Shapero, and Virgil Thomson. Contributors to Modern music include Alban Berg, Bertolt Brecht, André Breton, Aaron Copland, Henry and Sidney Cowell, Edwin Denby, Lincoln Kirstein, Pablo Picasso, Walter Piston, Paul Rosenfeld, Harold Shapero, and Virgil Thomson. Noteworthy original works of art in this collection include self-portraits by Darius Milhaud and Arnold Schoenberg, sketches of George Antheil by Boris Smirnoff and of Louis Gruenberg by Enrico Caruso, and a lithograph portrait of Paul Hindemith by Richard Heinsich.
The League of Composers was founded in New York in 1923 to promote American composers and introduce audiences to the best in new music through high quality performances. Its quarterly journal, Modern music, was published from 1924 to 1946, and edited by Minna Lederman Daniel. Initially called the League of Composers' review, the name was was changed to Modern music in 1925. It is one of the most distinguished collections of criticism and scholarship concerning early twentieth-century musical arts.
This catalog record replaces NUCMC entry MS 78-392.
Open to research.
Not all materials in this collection may be readily accessible; please request accessibility information well in advance of your visit
Modern Music Archives, Music Division, Library of Congress.
Certain restrictions to use or copying of materials may apply.
The Minna Lederman Daniel Collection at the Library of Congress Music Division contains correspondence, financial and legal papers, writings, clippings, programs, periodicals, and photographs pertaining to the life and work of Minna Lederman Daniel.
Finding aid available in the Library of Congress Performing Arts Reading Room and at

Related Resources

Request accessibility information:
Finding aid available in the Library of Congress Performing Arts Reading Room and at:
View this description in WorldCat: