Lejaren Hiller Collection of Audio Tape Recordings, 1958-1985

Hiller, Lejaren, 1924-1994


290 reel to reel tapes (25 linear feet).
The collection is arranged in one series chiefly by the Hiller work number of the first work on the tape. Tapes with collections and Hiller's teaching materials are at the end of the collection.
The collection contains Lejaren Hiller's personal collections of reel to reel tapes pertaining to his compositional output. It includes recordings of live performances of works as well as recordings of some of the electronic source materials used in other compositions.
Lejaren Hiller was born on February 23, 1924, in New York City. He received his B.A., M.A., and Ph. D. in chemistry from Princeton University, where he also studied music theory and composition with Milton Babbitt and Roger Sessions. In 1958, Hiller received his M. Mus. from the University of Illinois where he founded the Experimental Music Studio. In 1957, Hiller collaborated with Leonard Isaacson on the Illiac Suite, the first significant use of a computer in composition. The Illiac Suite (String Quartet No. 4) was so named for the Illiac computer on which the calculations for the score parameters were made. Hiller was able to tap the power of the Illiac for the generation and selection of large quantities of random values in a fundamental type of stochastic modeling known as "the Monte Carlo Method." Lejaren Hiller's importance to the field of computer music cannot be over-emphasized. His work on the use of computers for the generation of musical parameters such as pitch, rhythm, duration, etc. in pieces of music using traditional instruments, opened a door to new methods of music material generation and simultaneously to the computer-assisted analysis of the process of music composition.
Materials can be examined by qualified researchers in the Music Library during hours of operation during which Music Librarians are present. In order to insure access, researchers are advised to contact the Music Library in advance of visits.
[Specified item], Lejaren Hiller Collection of Audio Tape Recordings, 1958-1985, Music Library, The State University of New York at Buffalo.
Copyright for the materials in the collection does not reside with the Music Library. Therefore, patrons wishing to publish any item, or part of an item from this collection for any purpose, are responsible for securing requisite permissions.
Some sung or spoken word material in English.
Finding aid available online.
No further accruals are expected to this collection.

Related Resources

View this description in WorldCat: http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/830319341