Isham Library papers III : The string quartets of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven : studies of the autograph manuscripts : a conference at Isham Memorial Library, March 15-17, 1979 : typescript, March 15-17, 1979

Isham Library Conference, Harvard University, 1979


1 box (5 in.)..
paper black ink typewritten handwritten (some photocopies).
Arranged chronologically.
Original and photocopies of typescripts, photocopied score excerpts, and slides used for presentation of papers at a conference at Isham Memorial Library on March 15-17, 1979 entitled: The string quartets of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven : studies of the autograph manuscripts. Materials bear editing marks by Harvard professor Christoph Wolff in preparation for publication.
Introductory remarks / Lockwood, Lewis -- An introduction to the study of Haydn's quartet autographs (with special attention to op. 77/G) / Somfai, László -- Response to Somfai / Larsen, Jens Peter -- Discussion following Somfai/Larsen -- The significance of Haydn's quartet autographs for performance practice / Webster, James -- Discussion following Webster -- Haydn's corrections in the autographs of the Quartets op. 64 and op. 71/74 / Feder, Georg -- [Discussion following Feder -- General discussion : Haydn -- Aspects of Mozart's compositional process in the Quartet autographs : I. The early quartets ; II. The genesis of K. 387 / Finscher, Ludwig -- A close reading of the autographs of Mozart's ten late quartets / Flothuis, Marius -- Discussion following Flothuis -- Mozart's Haydn quartets : the contribution of paper studies / Tyson, Alan -- [Creative exhuberance vs. critical choice : thoughts on Mozart's quartet fragments / Christoph Wolff : paper absent] -- Discussion following Wolff -- General Mozart discussion -- Das Organische der Fuge : on the autograph of Beethoven's Quartet in F major, op. 59, no. 1 / Kramer, Richard -- Discussion following Kramer/Winter -- The autograph of Beethoven's Quartet in A minor, op. 132 : the structure of the manuscript and its relevance for the study of the genesis of the work / Brandenburg, Sieghard -- Discussion following Brandenburg -- [Another approach to Beethoven's last quartet oeuvre : the unfinished string quintet of 1826/27 / Staehelin, Mihael : paper absent] -- Discussion following Staehelin -- General Beethoven discussion.
The first volume of the Isham Library papers series published by the Harvard University Department of Music and distributed by Harvard University Press was published in 1959 and subsequent volumes have appeared on an irregular basis since that time. The series presents papers presented in conferences at the Isham Library at Harvard. The papers in this collection form the basis of v. 3 of the Isham Library papers series.
Isham Library Papers III : The string quartets of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven (1979) (Ms. Coll. 154). Merritt Room, Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
Staff notation.
Materials predominantly in English, some in German.
No finding aid has been created for this collection.

Related Resources

View this description in WorldCat: